The Cycle - Mixed Ensemble with Fixed Video (Op. 17)


"The Cycle is a musical exploration of the cycle of the seasons. Accompanying a silent film, The Cycle demonstrates the seasons of Barrow, Alaska. This small town experiences the incoming sea ice every winter, and this video is a time lapse of that town over the course of an entire year. The Cycle is based around limited pitch material, principally two groupings of C - Db - Eb - E – G & C - B - Bb - G - F - F# (and enharmonic equivalents). In addition to these groupings, The Cycle also explores contemporary extended techniques for the players.”

Fixed Video is available for download at

Intermediate Difficulty

PDF of Original 9x12 Size (For Professional Printing)
PDF of Reduced 8.5x11 Size (For Printing at Home/Practice Parts)

The Cycle - Mixed Ensemble with Fixed Video (Op. 17)